Standards-Based Grading: Parent Guides

  • Understanding the Parent Guides

    The Parent Guides are the key to understanding marks in Skyward and on the report card.  The following definitions provide guidance to parents to understand the language of Standards-Based Grading.

    Competency: Standards-Based Grading communicates students’ understanding of the Texas Essentials Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).  Using the TEKS, teachers developed grade-level competencies to communicate student progress in the Standards-Based gradebook.  The competencies are the same for each grade-level content area (i.e. 3rd grade math) across the district.  Teachers report students’ progress on the competencies using learning progressions.

    Learning Progression:  A learning progression is comprised of four proficiency levels (developing, progressing, proficient, advanced).  Each proficiency level in the progression defines the knowledge and skills that students will master on their pathway to proficiency.

    Proficient: A mark of Proficient (PF) means the student meets the grade-level expectations for the competency. The descriptors in the learning progression define the knowledge and skills that students must demonstrate in order to attain the Proficient (PF) level at the end of a unit or quarter.

    Each course includes an overview that reflects the sequence for the course.  Overviews are determined by the District and reflect alignment to the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills.  The standards-based grading overviews also show the competencies assessed within each unit and describe what students need to do to demonstrate proficiency within that unit.

Parent Guides and Competencies & Progressions

Learner Characteristics

Standards-Based Grading Contact

  • For questions related to Standards-Based Grading, please contact the Teaching and Learning Division at 281-634-8454.

Need More Information?