James Patterson

  • James Patterson Commissioner James Patterson is a native Texan who grew up in the central Texas town of Normangee. He received his Bachelors Degree from Sam Houston State University and his Masters Degree from the University of Houston. After graduating from Sam Houston State, James moved to Sugar Land and began his career as a teacher and coach at Dulles Junior High School. He taught math and coached there from 1965 through 1968, when he moved to Dulles High School as a math teacher and head basketball coach. In 1975, he became an assistant principal at Dulles High and was named Dulles High School’s principal in 1984. In 1992, James was named principal of Elkins High School and remained in that capacity until he retired in 1998.

    James has been deeply involved with the Association for Retarded Citizens (The Arc) for many years and has been recognized for his contributions to this organization and its clients. The Texas Department of Transportation awarded him with the Road Hand award in 2012. The Quail Valley Exchange Club recognized him as a recipient of The Book of Golden Deeds Award for his many contributions to the community as a whole. The Sugar Land Masonic Lodge #1141 has also honored James with is Community Builder Award for his countless donations of time and talent to the community. The Rotary Club of Sugar Creek honored Commissioner Patterson and Mrs. Patterson as the 2008 Humanitarian of the Year and Fort Bend Focus Magazine as their 2008 Man of the Year. Each year he volunteers his time to be an auctioneer for multiple service organizations and churches in Fort Bend County.

    James and his wife, Mary Jo of over 50 years, have lived in old Sugar Land for over 47 years. They have one son, two daughters, two sons-in-law, two grandsons and one granddaughter. Mr. Patterson was sworn into office on January 1, 1999, and has enjoyed  serving his community as Commissioner for Precinct 4. He is committed to maintaining or improving the quality of life for all residents of Fort Bend County.