Return to Headlines

FBISD theatre programs advance to 6A One Act Play district competition (3/9/2023)

FORT BEND ISD (Mar. 9, 2023) – Bush, Clements, Dulles, Elkins, Ridge Point and Travis high schools have advanced to the 6A UIL One Act Play district competition, to be held on March 11 at Dulles High School (550 Dulles Ave., Sugar Land, 77478). The competition begins at 2 p.m.

All six schools advanced from zone competition. In Zone 1, Bush presented “Forgotten Prayer,” Clements presented “Big Love” and Elkins presented “Compleat Stage Beauty.” In Zone 2, Dulles presented “Electra,” Ridge Point presented “Anna Karenina” and Travis presented “Epic Proportions.”

Students are directed by the following educators: Destyne Miller and Jason Barron (Bush High School); Gavin Mundy and Chase Hodgeson (Clements High School); Nichole Duga and Anthony Nieves (Dulles High School); Kelsey McMillan and Carol Harrell (Elkins High School); Alexandrea Novia and Estevan Rivera (Ridge Point High School); and Jessica Swafford and Alexis Gette (Travis High School).

In addition to the teams advancing to district competition, individual students were awarded the following honors:

Zone 1
Best Performer: Savannah Farmer (Clements)
Best Performer: James Clark (Bush)
Best Crew: Clements High School
Overall Outstanding Technician: Isabella Tinnin (Austin)

All-Star Cast
Theresa Ezeani (Bush)
Marjorie Kalule (Bush)
Travis Blanks (Austin)
Maggie Nelson (Clements)
Sean Williams (Clements)
Evin Davis (Hightower)
Myles Green (Hightower)
Adam Sayed-Mendez (Elkins)

Honorable Mention All-Star Cast
Sean Stegell (Bush)
Layla Shandy (Bush)
Kaiely Maglalang (Austin)
Andy Wu (Clements)
Luke Hartman (Clements)
Eric Jackson (Hightower)
Shriya Sehgal (Elkins)
Diya Manena (Elkins)

All-Star Technician Award
Jena Hamadeh (Bush)
Mia Vandiver (Austin)
Megan Biles (Clements)
Olivia Wiley (Hightower)
Kylie Sopher (Elkins)

Zone 2
Best Performer: Ashley Gilberg (Travis)
Best Performer: Kati Benton (Ridge Point)
Best Crew: Ridge Point High School
Overall Outstanding Technician: Miles Mendez (Ridge Point)

All-Star Cast
Ian Russell (Dulles)
Initan Olajolumo (Dulles)
Erin Brogan (Ridge Point)
Patrick Cashion-Vronsky (Ridge Point)
Xander Schoenberger (Travis)
Gracen Barrett (Travis)

Honorable Mention All-Star Cast
Nicholas Pizzuti (Ridge Point)
Evelyn Hill (Travis)
Demitri O’Day (Travis)
Andie Jones (Ridge Point)
Missy Seriki (Dulles)
Jayla Cork (Dulles)

All-Star Technician Award
Orio Ajagunna (Travis)
Sterling Smith (Ridge Point)
Tyler McCoy (Dulles)