Return to Headlines

Dr. Dupre wins Walter Kase Educator Excellence Award for No Place for Hate implementation (5/12/2021)

FORT BEND ISD (May 12, 2021) – Fort Bend ISD Superintendent Dr. Charles E. Dupre  is a recipient of the 2021 Walter Kase Educator Excellence Award given by the Southwest Regional office of the Anti-Defamation League (ADL). View the online award recognition here.


Dr. Dupre is a strong proponent of the No Place for Hate program and was one of the first superintendents in Region IV to promote its implementation in all District schools. No Place for Hate, one of the ADL’s signature K-12 programs, builds a culture of respect and encourages diversity in schools.


“I am humbled that the ADL has chosen to recognize my service in public schools with the Walter Kase Educator Excellence Award, especially because Mr. Kase made a difference in the district I lead by sharing his powerful story with so many students in our schools,” Dr. Dupre said.


“Dr. Dupre has been a longstanding partner with ADL and its No Place for Hate initiative," ADL's Director of Education Susan Shaw said. "He understands the value of creating safe and respectful schools where all students have an opportunity to be successful. By encouraging all of the Fort Bend ISD campuses to participate in No Place for Hate, he has sent the message that schools need to be safe inclusive places.”


The Walter Kase Educator Excellence Award is given in honor of a Holocaust survivor whose life’s mission was talking to students about what he and others endured.


Other recipients of this year’s award include Humble ISD Coordinator of Elementary Counseling and Behavioral Services Matt Smith, and Cy-Fair ISD Assistant Director of Human Resources for Transportation Fernando Zambrano.


ADL’s Southwest Regional office includes Houston, San Antonio, Corpus Christi, El Paso and Beaumont in its service area. Visit to learn more.