Return to Headlines

Jim Rice, FBISD Board Member, named TASB President for 2020-21 term (10/15/2020)

FORT BEND ISD (October 15, 2020) – Jim Rice, FBISD Board Member, was named President of the Texas Association of School Board (TASB) Board of Directors during the Association’s 2020 Delegate Assembly, which was held virtually on October 3.


Rice joined the FBISD Board of Trustees in May 2010, where he has served as Board President and Secretary. He currently chairs the Board’s Audit Committee. He was elected to the TASB Board of Directors in 2012, and served as Chair of the Legislative Committee during the 84th and 86th Texas Legislative sessions. He is also a 2013 graduate of Leadership TASB.


The other officers elected to serve on the TASB 2020-21 Board of Directors include: Ted Beard (Longview ISD), President-Elect; Debbie Gillespie (Frisco ISD), First Vice-President; Bob Covey (Cypress-Fairbanks ISD), Second Vice-President; Armando Rodriguez (Canutillo ISD), Secretary-Treasurer; Lee Lentz-Edwards (Kermit ISD), Immediate Past President.


Visit to learn more about the Texas Association of School Board.