Return to Headlines

FBISD Superintendent Dr. Charles Dupre named Finalist for 2019 Superintendent of the Year Award (8/26/2019)

FORT BEND ISD (August 26, 2019) – Dr. Charles E. Dupre, Fort Bend ISD Superintendent of Schools, is among five public school administrators from across Texas selected as a state finalist for the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.


“We are extremely proud of Dr. Dupre on earning recognition as a 2019 TASB Superintendent of the Year Finalist,” said Jason Burdine, FBISD Board President. “This honor speaks highly of his capabilities, passion and drive in leading one of the largest public school districts in the state.”


Dr. Dupre represents Region 4 as a 2019 finalist. Other finalists are Walter Jackson, Brenham ISD, Region 6; Tylor Chaplin, Burkburnett ISD, Region 9; Bruce Gearing, Dripping Springs ISD, Region 13; and Keith Bryant, Lubbock-Cooper ISD, Region 17.


The state selection committee, which interviewed regional winners August 23-24 in Austin, targeted such topics as advocacy, community engagement, the superintendent’s work with the board, and the future of public education.


Dupre has served as an administrator for 24 years and has led Fort Bend ISD for six years. The committee cited Dupre’s advocacy efforts and the encouragement he gives staff to speak up for the district and public education. The committee also noted his strategic alignment with his school board, his accessibility to staff, and the support he provides to help them face the challenges of serving the district’s nearly 77,000 students. Dupre received his bachelor’s degree from Harding University, his master’s degree from the University of Houston, and his doctorate

from Lamar University.


Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Superintendents from any of the state’s local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

Regional winners nominated by regional selection committees are:


Carlos Guzman, Roma ISD, Region 1; Sharon McKinney, Port Aransas ISD, Region 2; Tina Herrington, Wharton ISD, Region 3; Cody Abshier, Liberty ISD, Region 5; Christopher Moran, Whitehouse ISD, Region 7; Paul Jones, Paris ISD, Region 8; Roosevelt Nivens, Community ISD, Region 10; John Ramos, Castleberry ISD, Region 11; Duane Hyde, Highland ISD, Region 14; Carlos Rios, San Felipe Del Rio CISD, Region 15; Tanya Larkin, Pampa ISD, Region 16; Leandro Gonzales, Jr., Grady ISD, Region 18; Evelyn Loeffler, Sierra Blanca ISD, Region 19; Lloyd Verstuyft, Southwest ISD, Region 20.


The 2019 Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 21 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas. The districts of the winning superintendent and state finalists will receive an award from Balfour, program underwriter.


TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve approximately 5.3 million students.


Photo: Dr. Charles E. Dupre, FBISD Superintendent of Schools

Charles Dupre